• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Camping electrical

Re: If you are going to take advantage of FREE camping please read this.

IIRC they have 2 110v plugs, but if you are going to try and run 2 heaters plus a blanket on the same circuit it will probably pop the breaker. One of you guys should use the 30amp plug. You can get 30a->15a adapters cheap at Walmart.

ExTankerGuy could make $$ reselling RV plug adapters this year :D

I saw that a few pages back. Should've look while I was spending money at wally world today

If you use one of the 30 amp-15amp adapters doesn't your extension cord need to be able to handle 30 amps

Not if you aren't pulling 30 amps. Rated for the load, not necessarily the plug.

I could be wrong, I'm not an electrician.

Ok correct me if i'm wrong on this but to run the 30-15 amp adapter your extension cord has to be able to handle 30 amps correct?

From what i understand, no. the block(green thing i posted) helps out that

I got this for $5 at the local farm supply store.

CAM55233_6_1000_zps564a2c17.jpg

Already have one of these.

image_16712_zpsc547e7fe.jpg

I'll use two extension cords to run a dual wattage heater, and an electric blanket.

cool, im gonna pick one of them up. got a 15 dollar menards rebate in the mail yesterday. :D

If any of you have it, bring a gfci plug. Anyone in construction should have them.

The wire needs to be rated at the load as already said.

I will see if i can bring out my 30amp splice boxes. Normally i use them off of the generators in disaster zones.

They branch the 30amp into 4 120 outlets.

Does anyone know the voltage on the 30 amp outlets?

I was thinking about bringing my 1982 Delorian time machine and using the Flux Capacitor to power my electric blanket and coffee pot.