• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help me diagnose bearing noise- Video

96xjksu

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, this is my first time post here. I have a 1996 Jeep Cherokee 4 door. 4.0/AX15 4x4. It has 3.07 gears, rear axle is 8.25. I traded a Snapper Riding mower, which I paid $75, for the Jeep so I have little invested in it.

There is a loud hum accompanied by a wine. I think it is all coming from the rear end. I made a short video of the noise. Please note that the loud hum is not the engine, it is the bearing noise. It is so loud that I have to raise my voice so passengers can hear me.

At low speed, under 5mph, the rear makes a scraping noise which then turns into a hum and wine with speed.

There does not seem to be any play on the pinion shaft.

Link: http://youtu.be/1Pz41M3cMy0

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
A litte update. I removed the rear drive shaft and put the transfer case in 4 high and drove around the block. The noise is completely gone. I replaced the ujoints in the driveshaft and reinstalled it. The noise is back. I don't if this can help anyone pin point what exactly is wrong with my rear axle. Pinion bearing, ring and pinion, etc. I think I can rule out the wheel bearings.

same noise on accel and decel points to carrier or outer wheel bearings. usually with a pinion bearing as a load is put on it during acceleration it gets much louder and quiets down when you let off the gas. does the noise change at all when going around a corner? since the noise went away with the driveshaft removed I would say it's not the outer wheel bearings either, there is no difference in the load on those bearings.