• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Beating a dead horse. O2 sensor issues.

Jimhd7500

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 2000 right hand drive XJ, with a 4.0, automatic and 2 wheel drive. I have been fighting an electrical issue for 6 months and am at my end with this thing, getting ready to start it on fire. The fuse for the O2 system under the hood keeps blowing, but only after the vehicle starts. With the key in the on run position without starting all is well. But after starting the engine, the fuse blows about 3 seconds after. Also the TPS is slow to respond to the pedal being pushed. I have chased every wire and replaced both O2 sensors as well as all sensors under the hood. The ECM shows it was reman in 2012. I am wondering what else the O2 circut shares or what is eatting the fuse after the 3 seconds that is not running before start up? Any help would be great and keep me sane.

The fuse doesn't power up (have power) until the ASD relay closes. The ASD relay doesn't close until you start (the engine is turning over and the CPS is pulsing). This for a normal XJ, yours may be a different, but similar.

Which fuse number is blowing? Your model is unclear, there are a few differences in the wiring for the European (Euro 3) models and other XJ's. The wiring diagrams are also unclear and poorly labeled. Maybe starting at the fuse number we can figure out a way to troubleshoot exactly what your problem is (or some possibilities).

Just on a hunch pull your upstream O2 relay and your downstream O2 relay and see what happens, if the fuse blows again? If it doesn't blow, plug the relays in one at a time and see which blows the fuse. This is for the Euro 3 model.