• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Which XJ Lift is better suited for me?

440Duster

NAXJA Forum User
Hello Everyone :)

My name is Jeff and I am new to Naxja so please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong section and for creating another lift thread.

I recently purchased a 1999 Jeep Cherokee sport (4.0l, 8 1/4 rearend, Dana 30 front, np231 transfer case, Automatic transmission etc) and have been looking into different lifts for weeks now lol.

When I first brought home the jeep I had visions in my head of going 6.5"+ but after thinking about how I want to use it and what i want from the XJ/Lift I have decided a little lower lift would make more sense.

1. The jeep will be a daily driver (3 days out of the week roughly 42 miles round trip each of the days) so ride comfort is a consideration (it doesn't need to be mercedes smooth but not a kidney buster lol).

2. Mudding, dirt trails, High speed gravel backroad driving must be able to obsorb bumps (think jeepspeed in a sense but tight corners on gravel/muddy roads in middle of no where like rally racing) will be the main driving styles.

3. Must be able to tow a light weight snowmobile trailer with 4 vintage oval race snowmobiles during the racing season.

4. Tires will be no bigger than 33's (most likely 32's)

I don't really see a need for long arm suspension but having the option should I want to would be nice.

I want something I can drive everyday, Fly down back roads with bumps and whoops, and still be able to do some rock crawling if I feel the need to do so.

2 Kits I have pretty much decided on are:

5" RubiconExpress/DPG Extreme duty Hybrid XJ Kit