• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Advice needed! :)

CaliforniaMatt

NAXJA Forum User
Hello,
My name is Matt and I am an alcoholic.

Kidding! I'm currently a high school student from California. Recently, I've been looking to buy a vehicle for myself, and I have come across the Jeep XJs. I had some questions that I'd like to ask!

1. How is the XJ's reliability, part availability, and capability to do repairs yourself? I've heard the 6 cylinder and auto trans. are bulletproof, but what about the other components?

2. What are the differences between the 2-door and 4-door Cherokees? I read that the dimensions are the same, but how do the two compare off-road and on-road? Is there a weight difference?

3. I am looking into building a S&R vehicle for treks in the wilderness. I often go off roading with friends on several day overnight trips, and we've had a fair share of issues out there (people getting lost, stuff snapping, etc.) What upgrades do you guys suggest? I'm thinking a 4 inch lift, snorkel, lots of lights/flashers, hidden winch, off-road tires, upgraded exhaust, and on-board air.

4. How is the Cherokee as a daily driver? How can I make the vehicle comfortable yet capable off-road? Bilstein or air shocks?

5. How's the gas mileage? Any modifications to improve it? Chipping it?

6. Do you recommend a double-din mod or diesel engine swap from a Patriot?

7. Insurance and safety?

8. What trim to look for?

I'm sorry for all these questions, but I'd like to make an informed decision before forking over hard-earned teenager money! I've got $15k saved up in my "car fund," that should be enough right?! :star:

Thank you very much NAXJA!

Matt

jeep_wave_02.jpg