• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

trying to get the a/c blowing cold air

Draven1474

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 2000 jeep Cherokee 4.0l and I'm trying to get the a/c going again. I have very little knowledge about the a/c system on a vehicle so any knowledge is very appreciated. the system worked 2 years ago until the air slowly got warmer and warmer till the a/c pump wouldn't engage at all (low pressure most likely a leak) it stayed that way for about a year until recently I used that DIY a/c charge stuff from the auto parts store and filled it up until the gauge read full, the pump now engages for 4 seconds shuts off and engages for another 4 seconds and has held the same pressure for a week now all seems to be working as far as I can tell, but the air isn't cold enough Luke warm, does it need more charge or is something else wrong?

How much refrigerant did you initially charge into the system. One 12 oz can wont be enough.