• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My bumper and tire carrier build.

xpedition xj-eh!

NAXJA Forum User
So here goes, my first "build" post of any kind. I've been reading this forum vigorously and hacking away on my XJ for quite some time now. There isn't anything radically different about my bumper or carrier but I thought I'd share what I've done and how I went about it because after all, my work is the combination of ideas from other peoples threads. I'm no tradesmen but after working days as a computer programmer, I feel the need to work with my hands. I work on this thing after my wife and three kids have gone to bed. My budget is pretty limited so when I started my Jeep project, I figured I could either buy a handful of things, or buy a welder and try my luck at building all the stuff I wanted. I choose the later, which has taken longer but I've learned a ton in the process and am having a blast doing it. So with that intro out of the way here is my bumper.

1) Do the typical cutting to allow the bumper mounts to be inserted into the frame rail
20130427142335-d856d215-me.jpg

2) Cut up some 2x4 steel to fabricate the bumper mounts. I have a gas tank skid that needs to use the furthest hole.
20130427142338-5dcb459a-me.jpg

3) Gather some "stuff" like 2x5 steel and a 1" bolt and oilite bushings for the swing out carrier hinge
20130427142346-47c1c12e-me.jpg

4) Make the 2x5 roughly follow the curve of the tailgate by cutting slits in the back, bending the ends and then weld it to the mounts
20130428120623-87ace6b7-me.jpg

20130428120559-06b5dadf-me.jpg

...Ok, here is where my build report falls apart. I was shooting photos throughout the build but for a large part of it I didn't realize that my memory card wasn't in the camera!!