• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

swaping out renix for 96 computer system

njxj4x4

NAXJA Forum User
im swaping a HO 4.0, trans np 231 and the computer system out of a 96 into my 1988 xj with a renix non HO 4.0 and np 242. i would like to keep the old wiring for like the horn, head lights tail lights, indicators, ignition, basicly anything that dont have to do with the motor and trans. On my other jeeps iv made motor control harnesses from scratch with no problems. (im a low voltage electrician) From doing that iv seen that mostly all the wires for the motor and trans are in the motor compartment besides like the tcm that goes into the cab and like the wires for the obd2 connector. im wondering if i can swap out all my old motor harness and when i swap in the new motor swap the newer harness in with out having to swap over all the wire harnesses in the truck (lights horn ignition so one and so forth). In the 96 im cannibalizing where the harness goes into the firewall it connects to the fuse panal, are any of the circuits in that fuse panal used for the motor controls? i kept the motor harness on the 96 all together with the fuse panal and relay box connected with the main battery cable and everything. i know that will have to go in with the newer motor. if anyone has swap out a renix system and could give me some things to look for that would be great. i hope i have this posted in the right forum also haha thanks for the help guys

whats the easy way? i would like to get rid of the renix something is up with mine. ill be on the highway cant go over 60mph foot to the floor with the trans power button on and my rpm's will never go over 2000