• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Floor replacement project

Rod Knee

NAXJA Forum User
In getting ready to replace my rusted out floors I've been doing some reading and found out that the "95 and younger XJ's have a seat reinforcement bar that runs perpendicular to the long direction of the vehicle for both front seats. So my question is, are any of the preformed floor pans offered by places like Raybuck and c2fabrication best to use on a "96 Cherokee with this reinforement bar in mind?

Also, I have zero experience welding. What type of welder would be appropriate for installing floor pans and at the same time easy to learn and use on this specific project. What type of precautuions should be taken that a novice welder might not think of (such as perhaps brake line removal)?

My other option is to use a structural adhesive such as 3M 8115. Has anyone used adhesive had good results to report or conversely, noteably bad results?

I'm getting ready to do a couple patches, I'll do a howto writeup. 110v .023 or .030 wire, and jump around so you don't warp it.

I have replaced XJ floor pans. The floor pans are the same early vs. late, the only difference is the 1999.5 and newer seat crossmember has been added. A few years ago you could still buy the seat crossmember from Jeep, or you can cut it out and re-use it. You can also make do with angle iron or steel tube.

I used unibody structural adhesive and sheet metal screws with excellent results. Unibody structural adhesive is used for factory original body assembly on many unibody vehicles. Welding an option but will be a pain in the butt, especially for a novice welder.

Raybuck patch panels are thicker metal, and larger in size/coverage, than most of the other brands.