• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ rear D44 pattern check

baseballneal86

NAXJA Forum User
Thoughts? 16-18 in-lbs at the pinion, .006-.007 backlash with setup bearings

IMG952053.jpg

IMG956736.jpg

And just for reference, here it was earlier in the night, before I added .005" to the pinion depth. Backlash was the same .006-.007", but preload was a little tighter around 22 in/lbs.

photo-193.jpg

photo-192.jpg

Heel toe pattern looks good. Backlash sounds good. .007-.008 is what I shoot for. But everything looks good. Did you mark a couple different spots around the ring grear and spin 3 times to compare different spots ?

Yup, looks good!

Yup, marked 3 spots an spun it 3-4 times by the ring gear while someone held the yoke. 95% of the teeth look exactly like what's in the first pics. This is my first time rebuilding a rear, so I definitely wanna get it right. I've read lots of conflicting reports about Dana's loosening up over time, so it's better to have backlash at the tighter end, while other people say they hardly ever wear in at all. I was always taught a little tighter is better than a little looser ;)

I think your pattern looks good, and i don't think you'll be able to get it any better.

The only two things we can't tell from your pictures that are important are:

1. Is your pinion nut torqued all the way down when taking these measurements? And make sure to use a NEW nut when you go to finally install everything.
2. Do you have enough shims on the carrier to make it fit extremely tightly in the housing? You should have no side-to-side movement of the carrier when it's in the housing, and it should be difficult to install/remove (i had to use a deadblow hammer)--ideally you'd have a housing spreader, but most people don't :)

In response to the above^