• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New spring install this weekend

Tobtech

NAXJA Forum User
I have a tired 3" Pro Comp lift that has been on my Jeep for 4 years. Really it is 3" front and 2" AAL rear. Now with all my accessories, heavy spare and gear it is a little saggy.

I bought a set of RE 3.5 coils, RE 3.5" leaf pack, RE sway bar disconnects and a mystery adjustable trac bar that I got from a NAXJA member.

I am going to tear into it this weekend. Other than installing the Pro Comp lift 4 years ago, I have limited experience installing springs and no experience mixing and matching components. I am looking for general advice for things to watch for and potential problems that might arise. Any thoughts?

I know that I am only lifting another 0.5", however, since I know the RE lift is underestimated, here are my concerns:

Will using the lower control arms that came with my Pro Comp kit pose any alignment problems if the new springs give me an extra 1" or so?

I have MX9000 shocks that came with the Pro Comp 3" kit, I am going to continue to use them for now. How can I tell if I need longer shocks?

Hopefully everything lines up close enough to go get it aligned next week since I have a 4wheeling trip planned for next weekend.

Thanks

I wouldn't worry about the shocks. I had those ProComp shocks once and they will work with an extra .5 or 1" of lift. Just a little more up travel then down travel. You can add a bar pin eliminator and they would be good. If your axle can drop farther then the shock then you might have a problem... don't want all the weight pulling down on the shock.