• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dorman Harmonic Balancer; anybody tried it?

my2monkeys

NAXJA Member
I need a HB on my wifes 95 GC, Dorman and Precision Parts Powerbond are my choices.

Need some info. on quality of these brands.

Also, what's the deal with havig to remove the "oil slinger" with some HB's?

I have no experience with the powerbond one, but the dorman I picked up was .006 too small on the ID, it wouldn't even go on. I ended up going and pulling one from a wrecked XJ at the junkyard.

I see after searching that you and others had problems with Dorman.

Maybe i'll go to the jy today (half price days) and see what they got.

Just trying to loosen that bolt has got me worried, breaker bar I guess.

Thanks for the help.

Bolt was easy IIRC, pulling it and pressing in on was fun!!!

yeah the bolt comes out real easy. you're going to need to buy or rent a puller to get the balancer off though. you need the type that screws into the face of the balancer, not a jaw style that pulls from the outside edges.

As I recall I had to use the small bolts and a long bar across the bolts to hold the crank shaft still while turning the center bolt in the pulling process. Hard not to bend one of the small bolts in the process. Is there another way to do that, like parking brakes on and tranmission in drive or something? Or a special tool separate tool that grabs the balancer? I guess a standard transmission and brakes would work, but what about an AW4?

I just used a cheapo puller from autozone, the whole set was like $13. its the style that looks like a peace sign without the circle around it, comes with bolts and everything.