• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Doing rear disc swap, can I do anything to beef up the 35 at same time?

FleXJ96

NAXJA Forum User
I know most hate on the 35, but it's what I have for now, so is there any cost effective mod for any type of C-clip eliminator? I just got the parts from a ZJ for rotor swap, figure while I was in there I would change something if I could. I have heard to "sleeve" it, but I am a real Axle newb. Any thoughts? thanks

Honestly, a stock 8.25 rear would be a hell of an upgrade, even with drum brakes.

Sure, they make super 35 kits with lockers and chromo shafts, but if you are spending money, just replace it. C-clip eliminator isn't going to help you not break a weak axle shaft on the trail.

I know most hate on the 35, but it's what I have for now, so is there any cost effective mod for any type of C-clip eliminator? I just got the parts from a ZJ for rotor swap, figure while I was in there I would change something if I could. I have heard to "sleeve" it, but I am a real Axle newb. Any thoughts? thanks

Nothing you could do to improve the 35 would be less expensive than swapping in a Junk yard 8.25.
Also It is much easier to complete the disc brake swap with the 8.25 (or do any work on any axle) while it is out of the vehicle & on the bench

Last edited:
Besides needing new u Bolts , I hear there is a driveshaft issue issue/difference as well? Any one have knowledge of this. 2001 auto.

the pinion on the D35 is shorter than the 8.25. yes, you will need a shorter drive shaft. grabbing the one off of the donor vehicle is easy enough if it has the same motor/tranny/Tcase combo.