• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Front Wheel bearing 89 XJ .. What to expect?

WraithKWK

NAXJA Forum User
89 XJ 4.0 4x4 AW4 dana 30 front

I thought I had a sticking brake caliper, Felt like the brake was dragging a bit and the rim was heating up.
I parked my Jeep and ordered the part. When I Jacked up the front end to take the tire off I realized that there was tons of play. I could wiggle the tire up, down, left, right.

Well that explains all the symptoms I was having.
Wheel Bearing!

My question is simply, what do I need to order?
I have never done one on a Cherokee before.
Any special tools needed
Is this one you can do in your driveway

Auto zone lists:

Front Wheel bearing
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/parts/1989-Jeep-Cherokee-4WD/Wheel-Bearing-Front/_/N-iuad6Z8oxk8

and

Wheel Bearing Hub Assembly
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/parts/Timken-Wheel-Bearing-Hub-Assembly-Front/1989-Jeep-Cherokee-4WD/_/N-iuad6Z8oy4e?itemIdentifier=199119_0_0_

the second link is what you need, unless yours is a 2wd with spindles.

Going to need a 36,, socket, and a 12pt. 13mm wrench. oh and lots of PB blaster.

Take the wheel off and hose down the axle nut, and three hub mounting nuts really well. when you re-assemble, use some neversieze on the mating surfaces, will make it easy next time.

Thanks for the heads up,
2nd link is what I thought I needed.
Sounds like I just need some anti-Sieze, the 36mm Socket and some blaster

Twelve point socket, hammer, pullers are needed. I won't do it, lol, as there are often complications on older vehicles, especially as to my XJ having many miles of salt/rust. I've done Mercs, Fords, VW's, Chevs, often in the middle of nowhere, but I tire too easily now of what should be easy, and instead it seems to have Murphy show up these days, lol.