• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Which locker for Chrysler 8.25

jasonl2000xj

NAXJA Forum User
Been wanting to put a locker in my 2000 xj. It has a Chrysler 8.25 in it. Any body recommend a good budget friendly locker
For me. It currently has a limited slip diff and 3.55's. I'm kind of new to the jeep world. Any help would be appreciated.

You will need a new open carrier , So the price of a carrier and lunchbox locker close to the price of a full case locker like a Detroit, You would also have to pay to set up the gears also if you are not able to do that yourself.

If your not ready to regear but want a locker. I would throw in an Aussie or Spartain in the front and call it a day. Easier to pull your rig over obsticales rather than push your way through. IMO. Super easy and can keep it when you do re gear.

powertrax no slip... it doesnt make noise like my front aussie does. Their both good lockers tho, so ya my choice is either aussie or powertrax

You will need a new open carrier , So the price of a carrier and lunchbox locker close to the price of a full case locker like a Detroit, You would also have to pay to set up the gears also if you are not able to do that yourself.

This^^^. You are screwed with the LS carrier, but I think lock right or someone makes one for the limited slip carrier. Maybe not for the 8.25 though. That means new carrier for spartan/aussie or full like a detroit, reinstall ring and pinion, etc. I ended up putting a spartan in the front D30 instead for this very reason.