• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What's compatable with a 1987 XJ?

Crist Clapper

NAXJA Forum User
When I'm shopping for replacement/NOS non-mechanical restoration stuff... What other years/models might be interchangeable? Be kind... I'm a NEWB! :wave1:

What other models are compatible with a 1987 XJ?

What other models are compatible with a 1987 XJ?

depends on what part you are looking for.

Most body parts are compatible up to about 96, but it depends on the specific component.

Engine parts, transmission, transfer case, radiator, and electronics are mostly compatible up to about '90.

Brakes - mostly compatible up to '90, if it is a 2wd the brakes may be compatible up to a 92.0 (92.5 is incompatible for sure.)

Fuel tank is swappable up to '96, pump assembly may be different.

Air conditioning compressor is compatible up to '90, if you swap to a 91-95 bracket you can use up to a '94 compressor or '95 if you switch to R134a (iirc, it might work without switching, but good luck getting R12 now.)

Serpentine belt stuff and power steering is swappable up to a '95.

Water pump IIRC is swappable across the whole range - all the way up to '01. Same goes for motor mounts, axleshafts (as long as it's the same axle... you probably have a d35 and a d30, might be a disco d30 in which case only up to 91 or 92 or so is usable unless you convert to non-disco), front driveshaft.

Most sites will give a year range for the part you're looking at but some get it wrong. If you can give more specifics we can probably tell you whether or not a given part will interchange.