• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Info

CarolinaCrawler

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys Im new to the board. I've been wheeling for a few years and just heard about the crawl from some guys in knoxville and new I had to go. I'm having a hard time coming up with some good info on this thing though. So far I know its the weeking after the 4th and its at harlan county campground. Could you guys fill me in a little? Where to sign in and whats needed to ride (registration wise). I've never been to harlan but have always wanted to go. I've got a couple other guys wanting to go also. Thanks for the help!

It is the weekend after the 4th. July 6th-8th. The sign up has not started yet but will in the next couple of months. I drive 5 hours from Indiana every year to attend and I can assure you its a damn good time! We start wheeling Friday morning, have a potluck dinner that night, saturday we wheel again then have a meal provided by a local place. The last two years has been pizza from Black Mountain Pizza Co. Sunday I head home.

Depending where in NC you are, try to touch base with UNCC_99XJ (is that right Tim?) or Cnickgo. They both come up from NC every year for the crawl.

I think this year, I will come in Thursday night, get 3 full days of wheeling in, then head home on Monday.

The costs are *usually* about $20 a night to camp if you get a site with electric. Less if you pitch a tent in the field. More if you get a cabin. Registration is in the $30ish range and gets you a sticker, the dinner, and a couple raffle tickets. There is a t-shirt available in the $15ish range. We do a raffle and tickets are $1 a piece. You have to buy a park permit...either a 1 year or a 31 day permit. Don't recall what that runs. This year we are also doing a potluck where a food donation gets you dinner!