• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Thoughts on Lunchbox Locker on D30 with 35s?

Status
Not open for further replies.

z06elmo

NAXJA Forum User
I know a bunch of people have put lunchbox lockers in the front. I'm thinking of getting the spartan locker, but I noticed on their site it says not recommended for tires over 32".

I have a LP dana 30 gears with 4.88s. I intend to put USA Alloy Shafts in there with the stronger joints and thought about locking with the spartan. I'm uncertain if this puts undue stress in the carrier on 35" tires. Does the carrier become the weak point now?

I'm a very newbie wheeler so I'm not hard on my jeep by any means. If anything I try to overbuild my jeep to the terrain I try to transverse. The jeep sees maybe 95% onroad and 5% off. With that said, I would like to do the rubicon one day...

I have an ARB in the back, don't have one in front due to cost to install and cost of unit.

In a HP30 with 35s I have seen countless carriers break with lunchbox lockers

A LP30 is even weaker. I wouldn't advise anything but swapping out that LP30

i have a spartan in my hp30 stock gears and 35's and i wheel the piss out of it never had an issue i could see your ring and pinion being the weak spot because its lp. very easy to install took about an hour.

I have found that the week point in my HP Dana 30 is the inner C's (knuckle). I just welded some plates on the inner C's on the new axle and see how they do with 35 boggers 4.10 gears, and a laid back driving style.:patriot:

In a HP30 with 35s I have seen countless carriers break with lunchbox lockers

A LP30 is even weaker. I wouldn't advise anything but swapping out that LP30

So it sounds like it would just be better to run open in the front, although less capable more reliable?