• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

3 Link Road Manners

tigmeister

NAXJA Forum User
I have a Waggy d44 front axle that I'm planning on installing under my 93 XJ. I daily drive this rig and see a lot of freeway miles and like to drive between 75-80 mph, because I can have commute of 80+ miles one way and anything slower just takes too long. I also live right next to a large mountain range that I wheel regularly on the weekends.

My plans are to long arm it with 4.5 to 5.5 lift and 33" to 35" tires.

I'm trying to decide on either a 3-link or 4-link.

So my question is: How are the road manners of a 3-link suspension at the speeds and setup listed above?

I can fab anything needed. That's what I do for a living, but I really don't like the idea of welding an upper control arm mount to the diff housing with it being cast, and I wasn't really wanting to truss it and put a mount on that. There's not a lot of room between the driver's side C and the diff housing. I can make a spring mount to fit in the space and be OK. If I add a truss, it will reduce my clearance between the housing and the oil pan and raise the spring mounts, although it may not be a problem.

Has anyone welded a mount directly to the housing and have any issues with it? I've welded a lot of cast and hate it every time I have to do it. Sometimes it's fine and sometimes it cracks, but I've never welded on a diff housing.

That's why I'm asking about the 3-link. Any comments are welcome. Thanks.:huh:

I run a 3 link on my Wagoneer 44. I used to daily drive it set-up like that and it handled just as well. I plan to but I haven't got around to putting the sway bar back on it. At those speeds I'd suggest you have one.