• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Latch Relay Rapid Clicking!

smithmiester

NAXJA Forum User
So this is my first time actually POSTING a thread, but ive been scouring NAXJA threads and forums for years. Heres the situation.... I have an 89 xj, renix, auto, 4.0, etc etc. I threw a rod on the factory motor, so i recently put in a H.O. out of a 96. I have owned a few cherokees, and i know i installed the motor correctly. I used MY intake manifold, installed the CTS, etc etc. Now....when i go to turn on the power, the B+ latch relay makes a rapid clicking for about 3-5 seconds. If i crank it, it cranks, but no fuel and no spark. I know the pump, coil and ICM are good, because ive tested them. I need to know what common relay issue causes rapid clicking, and especialy how this applies to the latch relay. Any help would be awesome.:flamemad:

Which flywheel/flexplate and dizzy did you use?

Did you get the ground strap attached on the back of the head and the 3 ground wires attached to a clean and shiny dipstick stud?

I was REALLY afraid you someone was going to bring that up. Is there a comkpatibilty issue with the flex plate off my 89 The new motor had no flex plate, so i used mine, and i had to pull the pilot bearing before putting the new motor in. The new motor came with a dizzy, but i have the one out of my 89. The renix killer is in good shape, but as for the dipstick stud, what else goes on there other than the neg battery cable?

Good thing you used the 89 flywheel or you'd be pulling the motor out!!

There is a set of 3 small ground wires for almost the entire fuel injection system that are supposed to be attached at the engine dipstick tube stud.