• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Getting by without an SYE?

MJ3000

NAXJA Forum User
Currently I have about 4.5" on my 01 XJ and have driven it 20,000+ trouble free miles with just a t case drop. I'm on 31's now but am planning on adding spacers and shackles to my 3.5 RE kit to end up around 6", so I can fit 32's. I know I can fit them now but I do NOT want to trim or get rid of my flares.

When I add the spacers and shackles I'm also going to do a Chrysler 8.25 swap and get rid of my dana 35. I've read the 8.25 pinion is about an inch longer so I'm thinking if I reuse my dana 35 driveshaft I should be ok to go higher.

Reasons I do not want to do an SYE:
I'm a broke college student.
I'm scared to death of hacking my output shaft.
I've had 0 problems with the t case drop so why change it.
I'm a very broke college student.

Any input/suggestions if this will work are greatly appreciated! :wave:

I was where you are now not long ago....I tried "getting by" without because I didn't wanna spend the money. Now my jeep is down and has been for a week while I wait on parts because my slip yoke has so much slop in it I'm scared the ds is gonna fall off. Wait a little longer and save up a little more $ and do it right the first time. You don't have to hack and tap. Do it right. New tail shaft tail housing yoke and front ds for around 250-275 and be done with it and have the confidence knowing its done right