• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tire balancing

Kejtar

PostMaster General
NAXJA Member
ok... how often should the tires need to be rebalanced? If after not loosing any weights (and being balanced 5K miles before) 3 out of 4 tires need weights in different spots and one needing a big mofo of a weight (thing is about 8 inches long I think) are the tires bad?

Kejtar

I am not a tire mechanic and I am sure you will get other info from other sources also but in my experinence I have found that you could take a brand new tire to 5 different stores and get them balanced 5 different times and each of them might modify it and charge you for the balance job!!

If you drive rationally, and only on the street, with no significant bumps (driving up and down curbs etc) then it is unlikely that they would be off that much. But if you do any off road driving I think it is very possible.

Also, is there a chance that the wheels are not perfectly strait? Could that affect the balance depending on how the wheels were put on the machine? did you have the same shop do the work? same mechanic?

Just my thoughts,
Michael

I had to get my ATs rebalanced everytime I went offroad BC the weights got ripped off. I just have a set of MTs for trail use and they will eventually pay for themselves in the $$$ saved in balances/