• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fixing a ghettofab leafed XJ...

xjTrent

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys I'm new to the jeep world, this is my first and I'm learning as I go starting now. If I ask stupid questions feel free to blast me I can take it.

I'll try to make this short and sweet. I bought a jeep that's leaf sprung and now I want to re-do it in a much cleaner less redneck... way.

Some pics of the madness:
morejeepshit007.jpg

morejeepshit007.jpg
In this pic it appears that the LCA mounts have been butchered/cut off the axle
morejeepshit003.jpg

I can't tell if these shock absorber mounts are OEM or ghetto fabbed? Input?

morejeepshit006.jpg

This is the "lift kit" im gonna have to carefully grind off of the frame or cut and plate around it.
morejeepshit005.jpg

I'm new to this but I'd say the control arm mounts interfere with the ghetto fab leafs and their location.

morejeepshit008.jpg

Front view..

So yall have seen it now. Would it be a better option to get a JY D30 and go coils and take out the rediculous parts or keep my 33's and redesign the leaf setup?

Trent

Well I'm hoping to get this done on the cheap. I need help deciding on whether to do a new leaf setup or go coils. I'm doing the homework and comparing cost as we speak.

Edit: Just saw the last post. It's not. I parked it due to being concerned I would drive it short distances but no way would I haul my gf or family members in it. I am going to start calculating costs to go back to coils

I guess cheap is going to depend on how hacked up the underside of the jeep is. The axle, coils, and arms could be had for $150-200 I'm sure. I lifted mine out of junkyard parts for less than $100, so cheap is doable if you're willing to scavenge.