• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

need some advice for coil rear end conversion

Vanimal

NAXJA Forum User
i picked up a zj with a fair amount of lift and 35's over the weekend. the plan was to swap the dana 44 and suspension over to my xj, which would involve converting to coils.i have a concern....the exhaust. it seems the upper control arm or whatever you'd call it would make exhaust work difficult, so i'm wondering what you guys would do. Right now, the zj just has a dump pipe right after the cat, but i'd prefer a muffler. I have a flowmaster on my xj at the moment, with the factory pipes. Anyone have any experience with this? See pics below.
6575548943_2cbd46d637_b.jpg

I just have a dump ,but may route out a real exhaust ...but this pic is of a friends with triangulated 4-link rear and you can see the exhaust routes through fender well...I've seen it and it clears very well... the 39-iroks do not even come close on full compression .I live in the hills so I don't need to worry about exhaust routing to please the folks on the emissions dyno , but he does...lol

9777-coney-flats-9-20-2009-huge-mud-pit-look-chinakee-flex-whats-up-now-no-cherokees-can-flex-like.jpg

Last edited:
very sweet! thanks! how do you like the 4 link? curious if it will be worth the effort. half the reason for going this route is because since i have it all, it would be cheaper than lifting it with leafs.

run the pipe over the driveshaft into the tunnel, then back over and put your muffler (a small one probably) between the upper and lower arm in that nice little void there.

rockclimber, you dont think it would interfere with the driveshaft inside the tunnel?