• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What degree taper for the reamer is needed to use FSJ Waggy steering parts?

YELLAHEEP

NAXJA Forum User
After all my hair pulling and chin rubbing, I've decided to use Waggy steering parts for my cross-over steering project. Now I need to know what taper is needed to ream out the knuckles and pitman arm. I hope someone knows, because I'm getting no info from the parts stores.

Thanks again guys!

this could be tricky........ I know the two standards are what we call a 1:8 or a 1:6 Taper meaning for 6 or 8 inches it will open up 1 inch over the distance..... (1:8 = 7.1527degrees included angle and 1:6 = 9.5273 degrees included angle)

Don't know if this helps at all..... I work in the cutting tool business and these are standard TRE reamer angles......

It's late and i dont know if this made any sense

When I used the Chevy TREs, my waggy knuckles did not have to be reamed, meaning they are the same taper as the chevys. So, if you use the reamer suggested in the article on your previous post, you'll be good to go.

1.5" per foot is the correct taper.

Why not use Chevrolet ends, weld in bungs and 1.25" x 1/4" wall tubing? The Waggy stuff is really not stout enough for regular hard core use. GaryE has bent his rag link and tie rod a couple of times just this year.

CRASH

CRASH said:
1.5" per foot is the correct taper.

Why not use Chevrolet ends, weld in bungs and 1.25" x 1/4" wall tubing? The Waggy stuff is really not stout enough for regular hard core use. GaryE has bent his rag link and tie rod a couple of times just this year.

CRASH

Yea I use the 1ton stuff on my dana60 adn used the xj pittman arm:
ES2027L $18.99 high misalignment drag link end Passenger side 7/8"-18 about 7in long with 3in of threads, BIG taper