• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 50

rob93xj

NAXJA Forum User
I've done a good bit of research, it seems most people just throw numbers out in comparison to d44s and 60s, and not so much on people actually running them offroad. Basically d60 from the C's out, and d44 everywhere else except for the ring gear which is a little larger.
I found one with 4.88s and a lockright, bolt in for my xj. (brackets are all there already) for 750. I'm thinking if I can get down to 600 or so, it would be worth it... Could be a cheap, easy swap which should handle possibly 38-40s in the terrain I run, mud.
Before anyone tells me to find a 79 ford dana 60 kingpin, I'm a poor college student and cannot afford an axle plated in gold, my options end up being the later ford ball joint 60s, or possibly this d50.
So is anyone actually running a dana 50 who can give some insight?

Do it. Basically the R&P is about 44% stronger than a normal HP44. Only issue is the pinion shaft it's self is still the same size so the same argument can be made that it's no stronger. I run 5.13's and normally strip teeth off my pinion instead of breaking the pinion at the splines.
Even at $750 it's worth your time. If it does fail upgrade shafts ext... or Superduty 60's are cheaply had too.

Do it. Basically the R&P is about 44% stronger than a normal HP44. Only issue is the pinion shaft it's self is still the same size so the same argument can be made that it's no stronger. I run 5.13's and normally strip teeth off my pinion instead of breaking the pinion at the splines.
Even at $750 it's worth your time. If it does fail upgrade shafts ext... or Superduty 60's are cheaply had too.

I would just hate to regret not getting a 60 later on