• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Getting back into XJs - question on purchase

mattxjer

NAXJA Forum User
So I used to be very active here, on JU and AZVJC about 8-9 years ago and want to get back into the XJ world. I had a 91, 93 and 95 previously and built up the 95 pretty well with a 6" lift, gears, rear locker, SYE, 33" TSLs, and a bunch of other little things. I wheeled it all over AZ and CO throughout college, but sold it before I graduated college and I've been driving an X5 since then. It obviously can't pull much duty for offroad, so I've been looking at an inexpensive way to get back into it with a second/weekend vehicle.

I found a 2000 Classic with low miles <80k and a few good mods. It has the auto tranny, 4.0, D30/D35 and mechanically seems pretty strong. For mods, it has a front ARB bumper, nice custom rear bumper, good sliders, 32" Kumho muds that are pretty much new, 4.10 gears, "hardened axles" (still trying to confirm this one though), a Warn 9000i winch, a lock rite locker in the rear and an OX locker up front. It drives pretty straight and true, and I like it. It is from Chicago though and has a relatively significant amount of rust on the bumpers and the winch. I looked at it in the dark, so I'm not sure how serious it is underneath but it didn't look bad at all under the hood and where I could see using my phone as a flashlight under the body. Also, he was hit a while back in the front so the ARB isn't aligned very well on the driver side, and the ARB has a lot of rust. The winch and cable looks like it hasn't been used in probably 3+ years which definitely makes me concerned I'd have to rebuild it and at a minimum put a new line on it. It's also leaking from the diffs a little bit and needs an O2 sensor or two.