• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

About your vice presidential nominee

dellstopjeep

NAXJA Forum User
Born Eric Burton Ballou, on March 31, 1948 in Washington, D.C., where my father, Albert Gore, Sr., was serving as a Democrat in the U.S. House from Tennessee. My father also served in the U.S. Senate (1953-71) and was considered a possible vice presidential nominee (1956 and 1960). My mother, Pauline LaFon Gore, was one of the first women to graduate from Vanderbilt Law School.
My childhood was divided between a hotel room the nation's capitol during the school year and my family's farm in Carthage, Tennessee, in the summer. I attended Harvard, where I roomed with future actor Tommy Lee Jones. I earned a degree with high honors in government in June 1969 after writing a senior thesis titled "The Impact of Television on the Conduct of the Presidency, 1947-1969."
I opposed the Vietnam War, but said that my sense of civic duty compelled me to enlist in the U.S. Army in August 1969. After basic training, I was assigned as a military journalist writing for The Army Flier, the base newspaper at Fort Rucker. My father was defeated for re-election to the U.S. Senate in November 1970, largely due to his liberal positions on many issues such as the Vietnam War and Civil Rights. With seven months left in my enlistment, I was shipped to Vietnam, arriving in January 1971. I served with the 20th engineer Brigade in Bien Hoa and at the Army Engineer Command in Long Binh.