• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New (to me) XJ

NVDesertXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I just bought a 89 2 door XJ from a friend of mine for $800. It's got a 4.5" lift, 31" MT's or rock crawler style wheels, cross-over steering, etc. Problem is it has the BA10/5 and it's in bad shape. I was planning on going to the local Pic-a-Part to try and get an AX-15 from another XJ. My question is what should I be looking for? Any tips on how to tell if a trans is any good? I will be taking the transfer case as well if I can find one attached to the AX-15.

I'm a Jeep newb, so please be kind, lol. :cheers:

"ON" rock crawler style wheels. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong forum. New here and figured swapping a trans might fall under O.E.M.

The yard should have a warranty on the trans.

If not then dont buy it there. You can find them in yards that have a warrany, lots of times its not much more to buy a trans already pulled from a yard, at least around me.

Thanks for the reply Stockli. I guess I will find out this weekend. Not sure why I didn't get more responses. I have been wheeling for 20 years or so, just new to Jeeps. A friend of mine recommended the forum, so I hope it gets better from here.

AX 15's are pretty robust and last a long time, but there can be problems with the bronze snychronizers if they've been filled with the wrong oil. The one thing I'd do if possible is to open up the drain plug and let some oil out. Look for large amounts of bronze dust in the oil, which could signal synchro damage. Otherwise, though, I'd just go for what you can find at a reputable yard.