• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Made me a Stubby bumper

Hammered

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first attempt at making a bumper. Wanted to make a stubby for a while, finally got around to it.

I cut the front section off of a roll over xj to use as my template / fixture. Made my tie in plates then went to work on the bumper. I dont have any real "prep" pics but I measured 100 times before I got started. My basic idea is what I did end up with.

All 1/4 HR Plate.

P1017978.jpg

P1017981.jpg

P1017983.jpg

P1018007.jpg

P1018008.jpg

P1018006.jpg

Depending on where you live & conditions you wheel in this may not be an ideal design. I've had this on less than 24 hours and already "tested" my front clip in the woods... I may do something to take the pressure off the corners... but I'm in no hurry. It'll buff out. heh

Why bolted when it could have been welded?BTW:the hood treatment is gay!

Great job! I'm currently planning something very similar for mine, however i plan on adding tube to the sides, kinder prerunner ish. Where did you get the bolt ton d shackles?

Great job! I'm currently planning something very similar for mine, however i plan on adding tube to the sides, kinder prerunner ish. Where did you get the bolt ton d shackles?

You should check out my high clearance bumpers listed in the link in my sig... They are very similar and add a winch mount into the mix. I should have a nice pre-runner bar available next month too. They only weigh about 35lbs so shipping to Ausi. wouldn't be to bad eather.

The bumper is bolted (1/2 G8 Fine thread / Steel lock nuts) so I can easily remove / modify it. Its much the same way most aftermarket xj bumpers are made. Most use 2 or 3 bolts per side, this has 4 so strength is not an issue.