• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ Braking problem

Brandon77

Member# 3846
NAXJA Member
So I just recently put a new low mileage engine in my 1989 Cherokee Limited. I drove it for the first time and it is equipped with ABS brakes. My problem is the brakes don’t seem to be working properly. I have to put full force on the brake pedal to stop it; and I can’t lock or engage the ABS brakes. There is a huge master cylinder on the jeep but no brake booster. There is just some black ball that looks like a booster but no vacuum hoses go to it.
Anyone know the solution to fixing this problem?
I have a junkyard master cylinder and booster at home but want to get some feed back before I rip out the brake system and replace it.
Thanks

Thanks man... but why gas pedal? Not brake pedal?

you should take the brake pedal assembly not the gas pedal. I'm sure that's what he meant to type. It just unbolts from the underside of the steering column and will bolt right in with no mods into your jeep. Taking the brake pedal assembly along with the booster and master cylinder allows you to bolt it in without modifying the pedal rod or the pedal itself.

Since you have ABS take the proportional valve as well from the donor rig, and eliminate the entire ABS system from your jeep. It's a terrible design that is very prone to failure and very expensive to repair or replace... and even when it does work it doesn't work very well.

Exactly what Grimm said. I has the dumbz and cant brain today.

+1 on the prop valve. I didnt need to use another one but its always good to have a spare at least.