• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Brake Issue

DrexelSpivey

NAXJA Forum User
Whenever I have been in traffic for a long time, my brakes fail; pedal goes all the way to the floor, even if I didn't need them to creep along. After a stop and restart they work fine. What could cause this? ( Pads and Shoes are good)

TIA..

im no expert...

but saying you were in traffic would lead me to believe your using them a lot. use builds heat. air expands more than liquid in these conditions. thats why we run brake fluid. i would guess you got air in the system. try bleeding it till all 4 corners run clear. if you dont regain pressure, the problem is elsewhere.

also, make sure your pads are seated 100%. one time doing a trail repair i didnt mount the rear one on the axle bracket properly. my peddle went strait to the floor.

PS - what year?

im no expert...

but saying you were in traffic would lead me to believe your using them a lot. use builds heat. air expands more than liquid in these conditions. thats why we run brake fluid. i would guess you got air in the system. try bleeding it till all 4 corners run clear. if you dont regain pressure, the problem is elsewhere.

also, make sure your pads are seated 100%. one time doing a trail repair i didnt mount the rear one on the axle bracket properly. my peddle went strait to the floor.

PS - what year?

It's an 88, and it was slow steady traffic, never touched them, just crept along at idle.. good thing I found out in slow going, was able to E brake..

I would look for fluid leaks first thing. Check the master cylinder for internal and/or external leaks as well each rear wheel cylinder and the front calipers.