• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Steering box adjustment - lost my bearing

duck1982

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm a noob with a 2001 stock xj, 137k, and I'm in need of some guidance!

The steering was really loose, especially on the highway. I know now also the track bar bushing is bad and I'm waiting for a new one.

I've done some steering box adjustments on some other vehicles, and I there was definitely some play (from what I've read, I know it could be the track bar), so I went ahead and tried to adjust the box anyways.
I know now I should have fixed the track bar first.....
I'm afraid I might have screwed this one up!

This is what happened:
I marked off the adjuster allen screw with a paint marker, and the only wrench I had to loosen the locknut was a socket wrench. I was impatient, and used the socket wrench against my better judgment, and it completely took off my paint marking!! NOW I have no way of knowing whether the adjustment screw had turned a bunch or not.

I then tightened a bit (maybe?) and the steering got really stiff, it started to bind a little. So I loosened it up a bit, and the binding got a little better (I know this could also be because of some other worn parts.. no matter how loose I make it does bind a little).

I know if the steering box is too tight, it can blow up or seize on me.

My first question is:
Does anyone know whether something like that can happen if its set too loose?

My second question is:
Since I've lost my bearing, where do I start?
I'm functioning on limited resources- no lift, no jackstands. I've got a wrench and and an allen key, thats it. Removing the box is not an option.