• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

31's rubbing on LCA

99xjvt

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Gang,

Im new to jeeps, I got a 99 xj, long time lurker in the forums to find what I need to know.

Heres to current problem, I got 2 if not 2 1/4 inches of lift up front and almost 3 in the back and my 31's are rubbing on the lca's. not bad just at full lock. Now my lift upfront consists of a 2 in coil spacer and a 1/4 in isolator bushing. The tires are Goodyear wrangler rt's. These are on jeep canyon wheels. Any help would be great.

Thanks

josh

Hey Gang,

Im new to jeeps, I got a 99 xj, long time lurker in the forums to find what I need to know.

Heres to current problem, I got 2 if not 2 1/4 inches of lift up front and almost 3 in the back and my 31's are rubbing on the lca's. not bad just at full lock. Now my lift upfront consists of a 2 in coil spacer and a 1/4 in isolator bushing. The tires are Goodyear wrangler rt's.
These are on jeep canyon wheels.<---------------PROBLEM IN BOLD
Any help would be great.

Thanks

josh

The backspacing of your wheels are the issue. Even with the correct stock Cherokee wheels you need to backspace 1 inch on the wheel, for every 1 inch of lift on the vehicle

Example: 3 inch lift kit = 1.5 inch backspacer on each wheel. (1.5 x 2 = 3 inches )

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/d...apwcid=P1135867996W43b3f85c7ab9e&apwidyVrRPQ2

So if your Jeep Canyon Wheels need even more backspacing than the stock wheels, then that explains the total lockup on the lower control arms.

Last edited:
The backspacing of your wheels are the issue. Even with the correct stock Cherokee wheels you need to backspace 1 inch on the wheel, for every 1 inch of lift on the vehicle

Example: 3 inch lift kit = 1.5 inch backspacer on each wheel. (1.5 x 2 = 3 inches )