• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

simple SYE / Front D shaft question...

ericfx1984

NAXJA Forum User
which front drive shaft can I use in the rear with the following setup

I think I just need an auto 4.0 XJ shaft, but I need to be for sure

1996 Jeep Cherokee

4.0 HO

Automatic

231J

8.25 rear end

3" lift

SYE with shortened and fixed YOKE

also I plan to go up to 4.5"-5" eventually

Last edited:
If your using a cv yoke and cutting the t.c. output shaft you should be good. It worked for me with the same lift and drivetrain. I'm going to cut a little more off both and re-tap. Here's a pick of my setup

IMG_20110506_183715.jpg

IMG_20110506_181906.jpg

Last edited:
Total noob question as I'm about to order a SYE and was under the impression that I also need to order a new rear drive shaft. You're telling me I can use a front drive shaft from a '98 XJ in the rear? I have about 5.5ish pieced together lift.

Should be able to in most cases... install it and check and full compression and full extension to make sure it doesnt impact in on itself and as long as all the clearences are good you're ready to go. If it doesnt quite fit take it to a shop and have them cut it to length for you.

Should be able to in most cases... install it and check and full compression and full extension to make sure it doesnt impact in on itself and as long as all the clearences are good you're ready to go. If it doesnt quite fit take it to a shop and have them cut it to length for you.

If he needs a longer one, the front shaft from a v8 ZJ is about an inch longer then an XJ front shaft.