• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

The start of my $350 Craigslist adventure

shhuskins

NAXJA Forum User
Let me start off by saying hello, I am new to NAXJA but it's already my favorite XJ forum. I found A 96 XJ 4 dr 4.0 200k miles not running. Went and looked at it extra milky oil extra bad cheap paint job 4 different sizes and brand tires bent fenders and bumper no headliner filthy carpet. Picked it up for $350. Hopefully it has a bright future as a trail rig. gotthe head off yesterday to find this
0301011411.jpg

wow not what I was hoping for. Now I honestly don't know what to do. When the piston broke and tore the cylinder wall all to pieces to the point I think its beyond boring it out. How much can I expect to pay for A decent 4.0? I've kinda looked into a 350 swap but I'd much rather keep it as cheap as possible to justify a "good deal" on a trail rig. What do you guys suggest? Also what is the best/cheapest way to lift it 4-5 inches. I want to run 33x12.50's planning on trimming fenders removing carpet and Herculining top and bottom. Just A fun beater.
Thanks Guys Here is some pictures
Oh also popped the trunk and there was a set of shackles you'll see :)
0227010831-1.jpg

0227010832.jpg

0227010840-1.jpg

0227010834.jpg

Lol revolver shackles. 4.0's are cheap. Expect anywhere from $100 to $400. Are you sure the cylinder walls are beyond help? Otherwise bore ithem out and stroke it!

Yeah they are super cheap (under 300 for decent mileage) here on CL. Not bad looking though, just keep a rattle can of white in the back for touch ups!

Ben