• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 vs. AX15

Bassaholic

NAXJA Forum User
OK here goes, my 2nd total noob question. When I get my XJ it will not be my DD. I want to use it to go exploring, camping, do some local trails as well as head into Nevada or Arizona. I also have a 17' bassboat that I will tow once in awhile( I live on a private lake so most of the time I only have to go 2 miles to launch), but there will be times I would like to venture out with the boat. I need it to be highway friendly and I don't have,at this time, any plans to conquer the gnarliest 4x trails that God has created. I'll prolly end up with 32's or 33's on a 4 1/2" lift, with some trimming, rear axle swap,(I'm thinkin Ford 8.8 with discs for stopping power when towing). I've done a few searches but they came up empty so here is the question:

AW4 vs AX15 Is there any advantage of one over the other. I would rather drive an automatic for obvious reasons, but would I be giving up performance?

AX15 > * (except NV3550)

The AW4 is a good auto box, but runs warm, if you are going to tow with it keep it in 3rd or lower and install an auxiliary cooler. It does chop a couple miles per gallon off your fuel economy, and isn't as fun to drive.