• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

just purchased a 97 Cherokee sport

1SYCRYD

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, I am a newbie to the 4x4 crowd. I am looking at getting a lift and all the stuff needed to go with it to lift my jeep.
My JEEP is a 97 Cherokee Sport with a 4.0 (122k miles), 4 speed AW4 and a 231 T-case and a 8.25 rear with 3.55 gears. I just purchased this for 3000.00 2 days ago and have the offroad bug hitting me.. I have looked on all the sites and have to say I am confused already with all the stuff out there for this vehicle. I drive the jeep on the city streets alot and need confort and stability on the road.
Can someone give me a proven list of what I need to make this jeep offroad great and also drive in the city very well.. I was thinking of 3.5" lift or maybe a 4.5"..

What name brand lift should I purchase and part # if available?, What Shocks?, do I need a SYE?, Wheels and tires and size/offset? any tcase mods or trans mods?

I am asking you all so I dont waste time and money on junk parts and I know someone out there has already made all the mistakes and knows what works and what doesn't work..

I am trying to do all this for 2-3000 dollars if possible.

What do you think I should do to make this a good driver/offroader?

I bought a '98 Sport, bone stock a few months ago.

Added the following:

Rubicon Express 3.5" Superflex
Monotube Shocks
Rubicon Express adjustable track bar
16" take off wheels / tires from a Wrangler Rubicon bought on Craigslist
SYE and rear driveshaft
Sliders

Within your price range and it wheels great and to be honest, it drives better on the street now than it did stock. I'm very happy with how it turned out.

Added the following:

Monotube Shocks
SYE and rear driveshaft
Sliders