• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

wiring? newbie question.

cotyxj

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I'm new to the jeep world. If it doesn't have a bowtie on it I really haven't messed with it. Have a 95 4.0 5peed. Died the other night and was like the alternator had quit. So I checked the battery connections and all was fine just a dim dome ligh and a sick sounding buzzer, headlights wouldn't even come on. Well I was giving up and slammed the door and the light seemed brighter so I tried again and it started. Well I drove it this morning fine and parked it, went to leave a little bit ago and same thing. I had to pull a blue relay under the drivers dash this time bc it was making a horrible noise but still does nothing when I hit the key. Truck has a new starter on it so that's not the problem. If u have any ideas please help. I hate wiring but this is my daily/toy.....

You need to check the condition of the battery terminals, posts and cables. If they are corroded replace them. Also make sure that the terminals are tight at the battery. Also make sure the cables are tight on the other end as well. If that all checks out then check battery voltage and make sure the alternator is charging at least 13.5 volts when running.

In this order.....

1. Load test your battery. Any parts store will do this for free. Load testing is the only accurate way of determining battery condition.
2. Freshen your GROUNDS. Very important here. More on it below...
3. Verify alternator output with a meter at the battery. Should be 14 volts, give or take.
--------------------------

Grounds can be the root cause of many electrical gremlins. Refreshing grounds is NEVER a bad idea!