• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fabricating a receiver. T joint?

Airsmitty

NAXJA Forum User
I'm making a front receiver for my XJ, And i've come up with this design. Material is 1/4" receiver tube and 1/4" 2x3.

WELDIN.jpg

Will this be strong or would it be better to cut the rest of the 2x3 and butt weld it? I'm just getting into fabricating my own stuff and I figured this would be an important weld to get right!

if your putting the hitch into 2x3, why not cut a square hole to slip the hitch into?

I made a bumper like yours above, and even though I tacked everything before finish welding, it still distorted a bit and put a "smile" into the bumper because the ends pulled up a bit.

I actually just finished a new rear bumper and I cut a hole to slip the hitch into. makes for a clean look, strong, easy to weld and no distortion. it didn't take much time at all, measure and mark where you want it, 4 cuts with a zip disc on the front, 4 more on the back, slide the hitch right in, and weld.

good luck

if your putting the hitch into 2x3, why not cut a square hole to slip the hitch into?

I made a bumper like yours above, and even though I tacked everything before finish welding, it still distorted a bit and put a "smile" into the bumper because the ends pulled up a bit.

I actually just finished a new rear bumper and I cut a hole to slip the hitch into. makes for a clean look, strong, easy to weld and no distortion. it didn't take much time at all, measure and mark where you want it, 4 cuts with a zip disc on the front, 4 more on the back, slide the hitch right in, and weld.

good luck