• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Iron rock offroad inner axle sleeves

lsc910

NAXJA Forum User
Just wondering if anyone has used them and if so how do you like them. I may be in the market for a set but not sure if I want to spend the money on something that isn't going to help. I know some of the people on here are going to say buy another axle but I'd like to stay true to the stock jeep and see what I can do with the d30 rather than building another hole rear. Thanks for the time and input.

If you're talking about the D30, they're probably helpful. A D30 can be made to work for 33-35 inch tires fairly well. I've been wheeling my stock D30 on 33s for a couple years now with no trouble. I do plan on a truss and beefier shafts soon though. Sleeving it wouldn't hurt.

If you're talking about the D35 (since you mentioned the rear) don't invest any money in it, an 8.25 swap is cheaper, stronger and so easy as to make building the D35 pointless.

just the D30, I'm going to run a lockrite and 33 inch km2's after I do the axle sleeves if I get a nice review on these I think

I think a guy here, Cal, put an external sleeve on his 30 made from 1/4" wall DOM. It was a pain in his ass, but beefy as hell once installed. IRO tubes are 1/4 wall but should fit much more easily than going over the outside surface.

You'd have 2.5" diameter 1/2" wall axle tubes with the IRO kit. That is ~Dana 60 territory, strength wise. Of course, your R&P / shafts / joints aren't anywhere in that ballpark...

I think you'd be better off taking that 109 bucks and putting it towards shafts, unless you already have them and need to upgrade housing strength.

So these just press down inside the tubes? Interesting.