• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

For something a little different...

AZ XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Reverse Inch-itus. While most find themselves regularly looking to go bigger and bigger with their setups, I'm finding myself looking to do the opposite. I'm sitting at 4.5" right now with a hodge podge lift. Rusty's springs and crappy shocks, TnT track bar, jks disco's, and RE drop brackets. I'm on 32" KM1's. I've been running this setup for probably 4 years or so, and have never been happy with it. And as the years have gone on, I find myself using my XJ in much different ways than I did at 19. I'd like to lower my jeep to approx half of what it is... ditch the 32" muds on steelies, and go with about 2-2.5" of lift on stock ecco's with maybe 30's or 31" a/t's. So here's the question, what is the best way to go about it? Most of my research over the years has been geared toward bigger setups. Should I just do a spacer or ACOS on stock springs with a shackle? 2"ome? What about a track bar? Will stock work or should I go with something like a JKS setup? I've got an sye, so driveline vibe's shouldn't be a problem. My overall goal is a plush highway ride, good towing capability, and decent flex for a little off highway stuff. I'm open to anything so lay it on me...

My goal for my lift was good highway ride plus good off road performace. What I have ended up with is a 2001 4.5 lift 4.56 gear sye 32"tires. The lift I went with was Claytons long arm kit I got evey thing from them to do the lift. All parts are really well made and lift went in over, one long day and great service. The ride on and off road is what I was looking for and I live with it every day, I could not be more pleased. And in the backcountry I can follow trucks on 35 all day long.

For what you plan on doing I would: