• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

About to buy an XJ, need help!

FriscoCHL

NAXJA Forum User
Hello naxja, i have been reading and learning alot over a short period of time from all yall. I have been looking to buy an xj for awhile now and to make a long story short a friend of mine is selling one. Its a '01 sport 4x4 with a 140k on the dial. it already has a 4.5 in lift and 33's, that he just put on about a mounth ago. the jeep is super clean in and out and i almost bought it on the spot. he said he is selling it cause he wants to go a differnent direction with his build and would like to start over. here she is.

Jeep1.jpg

So here is the problem. the other day he walked out and there was a puddle under the right rear tire. as i work on cars for a living he brought it to me to check out. ends up being a blown wheel cylinder. no prob, right. so i get started to work on replacing shoes and WCs. the first set of shoes is wrong, no problem we get the wrong parts all the time. well the 2nd, and 3rd were not right. WTF is going on here... this is where it gets interesting, after alittle research and sending the old ones back with the parts driver to get them matched up. he finds the right ones and says that it matches to a part number from a 1989 XJ!!!!!!! call the jeep house and talk to there parts guy and he said that XJs from this era normaly came with a chrysler 8.25 and this jeep has an d35 in it that the brakes match up to an '89 or older!!!!!!! AND it has no ABS wiring as the front does. diff is stamped 35 here

Jeep2_35.jpg

another
Jeep3.jpg