• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Power steering leak

Mighty.Mighty_XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Well, there's a puddle of power steering fluid under the XJ. I checked & it seems it's coming from somewhere below the pump - no runs from the top or sides. I started her up & cycled the steering wheel left & right a few times, but I saw no dripping. I do have a Durango box swapped in, but the leak doesn't seem to be coming from the box itself. I know this might be a little vague, but I'm a novice & do have questions:

What do you suppose is leaking? Fitting? Hose? The pump itself?
Should I just put some Stop Leak in there & forget it?
Will it be safe to drive w/ the leak? The shop is a ways away ...

Thanks for any advice.

my pinion seal has been leaking since september. i'm gonna use a turkey baster and pull some old nasty fluid out, put in lucas power steering stop leak (stuff is awesome) and call it a day.

just dont let it run dry.

Shortly after replacing my pump I also developed a hard to track down leak between the pump body and reservoir. The "O" ring went bad on me. After searching at all the usual places including the dealer, I went to the local mom & pop hardware store and bought two proper sized "O" rings in the plumbing section (faucet gaskets) for 80¢.
So far all is well and I have a spare in the tool box.

Mike
P.S. Be sure the plastic tank isn't cracked.

What year is your XJ?

The hoses get pretty porus after a few years. If they are leaking, they will feel wet on the outside. The high pressure hose it the worst for leakage, you can guess why by the name.

I know you said you don't think it is the box leaking, but did the shop that installed the Durango box open it up, or did they just install it as is, from the Durango?