• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

axle not engaging

Rob277

NAXJA Forum User
Got a '90 xj 4.0/ax-15 P/T 4wd w/vacuum actuated dana 30.

After solving a lot of other issues this week I've got one that stumps me.

When I put the truck in 4wd high or low The part time light comes on and the front drive line turns but the axle isn't turning. I've worked on and owned a ton of cars but this is my first experience with a vacuum actuated disco. It has the three vacuum lines going to the actuator so I believe that would mean if the light comes on it's got vacuum.

I'm no expert here so any help is appreciated.

The light coming on means the vacuum operated switch has vacuum. That's under your coolant bottle. That doesn't guarantee that the front axle shift motor has vacuum.The vac harness for the front axle shift motor frequently fails. I prefer making the mod to engage the front axle permanently like it was in later years.

Btw its aw4 not ax-15. No idea where i got that from. Whats involved in rigging it permenantly and is there any worry with streatability. The truck is a daily driver

No streetability problems. The factory quit using that system in 1991 on the Part Time CommandTrac systems and never used that system on the SelectTrac models. No worries there.

There are some write-ups. Search "CAD eliminate"

might do that, atleast look into it.