• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Professional vs Home job...

GFAndoscia

NAXJA Forum User
My 2001 XJ Sport is black, and the sun is doing quite a number on the clear coat. It has been cracking alllllll over the hood, and roof, and since it's my DD I want it to look cherry. I have decided that I will definitely be re-painting. However, I have not decided on a color, or whether or not I will be painting it myself, or bringing it to a shop (NOT MAACO).

I am not very confident in painting myself, because I have never done a job this size before, but I know it will save me a TON of money. I talked to a few friends who have all told me that I can also save money by doing all of the prep work myself, and just having it sprayed/clear coated in the shop. They said the majority of the hard work in a paint job is prep, and if you have it all done before you hand it over to the shop, that it will reduce the price of the job drastically.

Any opinions??

(Keep in mind, I drive this EVERYWHERE.)

Just my .02 I did a lot of research and a lot of practicing. I went out and bought all the guns and materials and have painted 3 cars. They all looked pretty good but not cherry by any means. Without a paintbooth and a lot of experience its really really hard to get it perfect. I think it is most definitely worth the money to prep it and have it professionally sprayed. You will be much happier and it willl save you days of hard work for a merely decent looking end product

I'll chime in here. When you said the majority of the hard work is prep, you're dead wrong...

ALL of the hard work is prep.