• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to NAXJA...could use some friendly help!

mrlonewolfe

NAXJA Forum User
Im new to the NAXJA community and a first time owner of a jeep.I recently bought a 1995 xj ...its automatic and a HO..Im wanted to know about Claton long arm lift kits...or whats a great lift.Im looking for @6in...to run 33in tires...Can anyone give me some helpful ideas..tips...ect?This is going to be my tow rig....[Also I need to know about Lockers/or lsd's....Thanks for any help you might have......Wolfe~~ :lol: [/b]

I run Claytons long arms on my Jeep and I really like them. Very heavy duty (also work well as rock sliders!!) and have great flex. I am at about 8" of lift. Just make sure you have an expert weld the crossmember to the unibody frame, and use all of the braces in the kit. Not sure how well any lift springs for the rear will hold up to towing, but the Big Offroad 6" pack usually nets around 8.5" before they settle out. Towing on a set of these springs will really help them settle a lot quicker too. Also, if your going to run 33's and use the XJ for towing, you better consider at least 4.56 gearing and swapping out that toothpick D35 rear for an 8.25 rear or a D44 out of an 87 or 88 Cherokee. As for a LSD or locking device, once again a full carrier locking device (Detroit) is better if you plan on towing. Or, maybe an Auburn LSD.

A.

Welcome to NAXJA. You didn't say where you call home, but if you're in the northeast, I hope you'll consider joining NAXJA and becoming a member of the North Atlantic Chapter.