• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Axle gear ratio?

musikman43155

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1992 Jeep Cherokee w/ an AX-15. I tried looking @ the rear axle for a tag, but, cannot locate how the axle is geared.

I'm considering buying a Chrysler 8.25" axle to replace mine. His is also a 2 door 5 speed, but, a 1997.

I may also end up buying his front axle, but, I don't think there's any reason to, besides mine being rusty. It's still a Dana 30, right.

I am a complete amateur & have had my XJ for a short time. I appreciate any help.

96 or 98 and up is a L/P
you have a H/P front 30
but if you have a 5speed with the 4.0 it should have 3.07's

if he has a H/P front and a 8.25 rear out of a A/T 4.0 it has 3.55's
good and a little lower but you need both to keep you gears wright

- low pinion means the pinion is lower then the center line of the ring gear. (look at your rear axle where the drive shaft goes into the axle.)
- high pinion mean the pinion is higher then the center line of the ring gear. (look at your front axle where the drive shaft goes into the axle.)

Your pinion is internal to the axles differential. It is attached to the yoke, which is bolted to your driveshaft. Drive shaft spins, which spins the yoke, which is connected to your pinion, which turns the ring gear, which turns the "spidergears" (also called pinion gears.....lol im not trying to confuse you) which are connected to your axle shafts, which are bolted to your wheel , which is attached to your tire. There is a brief explnation of how your axles work lol.