• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Light smoke?

musikman43155

NAXJA Forum User
I have some light white smoke coming from my breather tube on my valve cover & my dipstick when I pull the stick. I just recently did some work on this Jeep, none of which was to the motor. I added some seafoman to the old oil then added Rotella T & a new Napa Gold oil filter. I still have the light smoke coming for those spots, but, not noticeably from the tailpipe.

The XJ sat for a few years without being driven much @ all before I bought it. I also ran some seafoam through the the gas but that gas has most likely cycled through. I've still not run the motor for more than maybe 15 minutes max.

Is this a problem or is it normal? I am an amateur @ best so be kind.

Tough call. How does the engine run?

You will have moisture in the crankcase, that is a normal occurrence, and the moisture burns off when the oil AND the block reaches full operating temperature, which isn't happening in 15 minutes. Just because the coolant gets hot the block still has a long way to go.

Are you finding a "milkshake" on the dipstick tube or under the oil filler cap? If not, just keep monitoring things and see what happens when you can get it really heated up.

Good luck.

Trust me, the day that you swap your instrument cluster for one with full gauges will be one of the happier days of your xj life.

Panels with full gauges were available from the start, except that early on, they did not come with tachs on 5-speed models, at least that is what the salesman told us when we bought our '85 5-speed--I never did understand the reasoning behind that.