• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Custom Building a 4.7L Stroker

stever6kid

NAXJA Forum User
Ok guys I may be :new: to :NAXJA: but I'm not a newbie to the XJ. I'm ready to step up the old family (1996 Cherokee Sport 4.0L HO AW4 2WD) car buy stroking it out with a 4.2L crankshaft. I am also building a custom suspension set up for 4.5 inches and converting it to 4WD (hopefully useing a pair of dana 44's). I am on a budget and like doing the work myself so I really don't want to buy the motor, plus my buddy has a machine shop in his garage so tools are not an issue. I have the 4.2L rods which have been cleaned, shot peened, checked for straightness and reconditioned. I however am having trouble finding a crankshaft that will fit my engine so my question is does anybody know what I should be looking for? Someone told me I needed either a 6 or a 12 counter weight shaft to fit my 1996 4.0L HO block, but what does that mean and what year models have that?

Welcome!

I also own a 96 that began life as a 2wd, but now is a 4wd. 99 engine, 96 AX-15, 95 231 and 89 axles. Made from lots of parts.

Lots of good information on strokers here if you do a little digging. I have my block, head, crank and rods so far. I think any 4.2 crank will work.

Tom

You were right it took awhile and some serious digging but I found some good information and I should be able to build and expand off of that. I also think I found a magnafluxed and reground 258 crank from a 72 CJ for less than $50 but I'm not sure if I should get it.

Last edited:
Stever6kid.

PM system is down right now...Can't read your PM.

If you have questions about stroker build...Dyno has answered with his info...and I am building mine now. Have it on the stand half built on saturday.

you can email me at jeepcj7 AT gmail DOT com

Dr. Dyno said: